Monday, November 24, 2014

Who's going to ABMB this year?

The below list is courtesy of The Center for the Creative Economy



DC Area Artists - Art Basel Miami - 2014

..........................................................
Jennifer Jacobs, Aqua Art Miami Director  jjacobs@art-miami.com
(T) 503.810.7903

Mayer Fine Arts - Aqua Art Miami
Judith Peck judithpeck@prodigy.net (with Mayer Fine Arts at Aqua Art Miami)
Victoria Gaitan (with Mayer Fine Arts at Aqua Art Miami)

Morton Fine Art - Aqua Art Miami
Stephon Senegal (Morton Fine Art, Aqua Art Miami)
Victor Ekpuk vekpuk@yahoo.com (Morton Fine Art, Aqua Art Miami)

Hamiltonian Gallery - Aqua Art Miami - www.hamiltoniangallery.org
Joshua Haycraft <haycraftj@bhbitb.com> (Hamiltonian Gallery at Aqua)
Annette  Isham <annette.isham@gmail.com> (Hamiltonian Gallery at Aqua)

VENUE Context Art Miami www.contextartmiami.com

Alida Anderson Art Projects - Context Art Miami info@alidaanderson.com
Audrey Wilson audreywilson4@gmail.com (with Alida Anderson at Context Art Miami)
Lenny Campello lenny@lennycampello.com (with Alida Anderson at Context Art Miami)

Curator’s Office – Context Art Miami  www.curatorsoffice.com
Larry Cook <larrywcookjr@yahoo.com> (Curator's Office at Miami Context Art Miami)

VENUE Latin American Art Pavilion latinamericanartpavilion.com

Latin American Art Pavilion latinamericanartpavilion.com
Joan Belmar Joanbelmar@gmail.com (The Latin American Art Pavilion at Red Dot Art Fair) curated by Dennys Matos

VENUE PRIZM Art Fair
Contact: Prizm Art Fair www.prizmartfair.com in Miami and the founder director is Mikhaile Solomon
Wesley Clark wclark79@gmail.com
Amber Robles Gordon amberroblesgordon@gmail.com
Jamea Richmond Edwards ejamea@gmail.com
Irene Clouthier, www.ireneclouthier.com
Adrienne Gaither adriennegaither.com

VENUE Art Miami www.art-miami.com/
Connersmith Contemporary http://www.connersmith.us.com/
Erik Thor Sandberg  iconologicart@gmail.com

DC Area Galleries
Alida Anderson Art Projects info@alidaanderson.com
Connersmith Contemporary info@connersmith.us.com
Morton Fine Art - MFA Amy Morton mortonfineart@gmail.com
Curator's Office andrea@curatorsoffice.com
Mayer Fine Arts www.mayerfineartgallery.com

Miami Organizations that have shown DC artists via application (Note: Aqua Art Miami doesn’t show individual artists, but only galleries via a rigorous application process; however, in the past they have vetted individual performance artists)

From Holly Bass - Map from 2012 - Beginners Guide to Art Base Miami

Beginner's guide to Art Basel:


Friday, November 21, 2014

Another scam

This is a scam - they're just beginning to hit artists and galleries with their own domain names:

Subject:   alidaanderson domain and keyword in CN
From:   "David Zhang"
Date:   Tue, November 18, 2014 11:55 pm
To:   info@alidaanderson.com
Priority:   Normal




(Please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent. Thanks)

We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China. On Nov 17, 2014, we received an application from Huabao Holdings Ltd requested "alidaanderson" as their internet keyword and China (CN) domain names. But after checking it, we find this name conflict with your company name or trademark. In order to deal with this matter better, it's necessary to send email to you and confirm whether this company is your distributor or business partner in China?

Kind regards

David Zhang
General Manager
YIGUDNS (Headquarters)
B06, Yujing Building, No.1 Jihe Road,
Shanghai 201107, China
Tel: +86 21 6191 8696
Mobile: +86 138 1642 8671
Fax: +86 21 6191 8697

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Quantum of the Seas in NYC

"Channeling Jackson Pollock: Rock, Paper, Scissors” being transported by Quantum of the Seas! by Alan Sislen

Super talented DMV area photog Alan Sislen writes...
I was in NYC this weekend doing some photography.  Last night I was shooting lower Manhattan from New Jersey and heard this enormous ships horn.  Coming up the Hudson River was your "Channeling Jackson Pollock: Rock, Paper, Scissors” being transported by Quantum of the Seas!  In the background is the World Financial Center and the Freedom Tower (One World Trade Center).
Thank you Alan!

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Amber Robles-Gordon at the Capitol Skyline tomorrow


OPENING RECEPTION TOMORROW --  THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 20 FROM 7-9PM


OPENING RECEPTION
November 20, 2014, 7-9pm
LOCATION
South Capitol Street Facade
Capitol Skyline Hotel
10 I (Eye) Street SW
Washington, DC 20024
WPA presents a new work by DC-based artist Amber Robles-Gordon as the second installation in its South Capitol Skyscape series. For the 50-foot banner on the South Capitol Street fa├žade of the hotel, WPA has excerpted a portion of Robles-Gordon's new work entitled At the Altar: Dance of the Serpents. Created through the artist's signature assemblage process combining textiles and found objects, the work takes new form using a recycled hammock as its support and foundation, representing the structural constructs of the past and the restrictive patterns of repetitive thinking.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

The next copyright act???

Chris Reed is a former senior policy advisor to the Register of Copyrights and author of Copyright Workflow for Photographers.

Check out his piece here.

Monday, November 17, 2014

Jane Haslem to close after 55 years

Jane Haslem Gallery, the DMV's longest running art gallery will host its last "formal exhibition" after 55 years of operation!

For those of you who don't know, 55 years is close to 873 years in people-years! Haslem's Artline was (and is) one of the planet's first gallery sites on the Internets; it made its debut in 1995, the year before we opened the Fraser Gallery in Georgetown!

When we opened, we already had a website ready to fly hosted on the old Geocities server... back then you could count the DMV galleries with a web presence in one hand and Haslem had set the standard.

 TOM EDWARDS
November, December 2014 & January 2015
Opening Reception:  December 6, Saturday, 3-7 pm

also exhibiting new watercolors and prints
by ANNE CHESNUT, NANCY McINTYRE, and ELIZABETH PEAK

Check out their last formal show here.

Sunday, November 16, 2014

Channeling Jackson Pollock is at sea

Remember this commission for Royal Caribbean's spectacular new ship "Quantum of the Seas"

That amazing new cruise liner is now in its break down maiden cruise and my piece is now fully installed and at sea!

"Channeling Jackson Pollock: Rock, Paper, Scissors"